Angry Music = Good Fight Scenes

I got a reader question that I thought I’d answer here. I think maybe it will be helpful to all of you writers looking for some angst!

Emerian,

I love your vampire series and am halfway through Artistic License. How do you gear up for a fight scene? Is there anything you do in particular that puts you in the fight state of mind? Thank you for writing. You’ve made me want to read again.

Josh

Josh, thank you so much! You don’t know what an email like this means to me. If I can put just a little pleasure into readers lives, I have done my job!

Now, on the conversation about how to get in gear for a fight scene, here is my secret. I have a list of songs and artists that I listen to whenever I am upset with someone or something. They are songs that help me release my anger without doing something stupid like slashing the jerk’s tires or punching him/her in the face.  When I encounter such a day, if I can I will write. I can usually get some really good fight scenes out of that. If I can’t write – like if I am on my way home from work in the car – I will listen to my angry music. This does two things…

  1. It lets me release my anger before I get home to my family. 
  2. It stores those angry feelings in the songs for me later.

Have you ever heard a song on the radio and it reminded you instantly of a time in the past when you were in love or going through a death in the family? It’s the same concept.

I advise you to make your own “Angry Song” list, but to help out, I have listed a handful of mine. I invite you to comment on your favorite Angry Songs!

Blood in My Eyes – Limp Bizkit, Disturbed, Godsmack

Let the Bodies Hit the Floor – Drowning Pool

F*ck U – Lily Allen

The Way I Am – Eminem

Bullet in the Head – Rage Against the Machine

Sway – Coal Chamber

Down with the Sickness – Disturbed

Head Like a Hole – NIN

I’m with Stupid – Static-X

Everything About You – Ugly Kid Joe

Goodbye You Suck – Shiloh

Leave a Reply

